

# NCHA EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE CONFERENCE CALL MINUTES JANUARY 16, 2023 9:00AM Central

A conference call of the Executive Committee of the National Cutting Horse Association was held on Monday, January 16, 2023, beginning 9:00AM central time.

Executive Committee members present: President Ted Sokol, President-Elect Toddy Pitard, Vice President Mark Senn, Kristen York, Rock Hedlund, Kirby Smith, John Lavelle, Sharon Overstreet, Tommy Williams, Skip Jones, Cara Brewer, and Casey Green. Excused Executive Committee members: Ernie Beutenmiller and Kathleen Moore. NCHA Executive Director Jay Winborn, NCHA Treasurer Denise Seiz, Director of Shows Shianne Megel and Cathy Marie Aleff.

The Executive Committee meeting was called to order at 9:02AM and roll call was taken.

President Ted Sokol addressed the members of the Executive Committee with the purpose of the call to discuss entry fee structure at the Eastern Nationals, Super Stakes and Summer Spectacular events.

#### **EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR UPDATES – JAY WINBORN**

Executive Director Jay Winborn and Director of Shows Shianne Megel provided an update to the Executive Committee with regard to entry fee structure for the upcoming NCHA produced shows. They explained the budget variations the Association could expect due to the rising costs of production.

After much discussion, a **MOTION** was made by Casey Green and **SECONDED** by Tommy Williams to add a \$60.00 advancement fee to each finalist for Eastern Nationals. **MOTION FAILED** by roll call votes of six (6) against; five (5) in favor and one (1) abstained.

A **MOTION** was made by Casey Green and **SECONDED** by Rock Hedlund to approve a \$50.00 entry surcharge to the final payment for the 2023 Super Stakes and 2023 Summer Spectacular. **MOTION PASSED by roll call votes of ten (10) in favor and one (1) abstained.** 

## **OLD BUSINESS**

At this time, there is no old business to bring before the Executive Committee for discussion.

### **NEW BUSINESS**

At this time, there is no new business to bring before the Executive Committee for discussion.



# **ADJOURNMENT**

There being no further business to come before the committee, a **MOTION** was made by Kirby Smith and **SECONDED** by Toddy Pitard to adjourn the call at 9:48AM. **MOTION PASSED UNANIMOUSLY.**