FIRST BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEETING MINUTES MAY 31, 2019 5:30PM

The second session of the 2019 NCHA Annual Board of Directors meeting was held on Friday, May 31, 2019 at the Marriott at Champions Circle located in Fort Worth, Texas.

President Phil Rapp called the meeting to order at 5:33PM and opened by asking David Pilcher to lead us in prayer.

Roll was called with a quorum of 130 Directors in attendance including:

Region I: Western/Central Canada – David Batty, Connie Down-Cicoria, Darcy Geherman, Les Jack, Louisa Murch-White and Amanda Smith; Colorado – Nathan Miller, Steve Norris, Ron Pietrafeso and Michael Simmons; Idaho – Barbi Madgwick and Denise Shewmaker; Montana – Kathy Foote and Michelle Van Dyke; Oregon – Russell Elrod and Jack Holt; Utah – Steve Williams; Washington – Holly Jones and Dean Rebhuhn; Wyoming – John (Jack) Enright and Kristen York.

Region II: Arizona – Sherry Cowan, Scott Raftery and Mike Wood; California – Bob Adams, Phil Benadum, Kathy Cardon, Tim Castilaw, Norm Clark, Morgan Cromer, Fred Erickson, Rock Hedlund, Lee Livingston, Suzanne Rodoni-Silverberg and Carol Ward; Nevada – John Echeverria and Theresa Gillock.

Region III: Illinois – Scott McKinsey; Iowa & Wisconsin – Curt Eason and Seth Kirchner; Kansas – Grant Smith and Rebecca Waters; Minnesota – Dave Scribner; Missouri – Ernie Beutenmiller, Jr., Greg Beutenmiller, Joe Wes Davis, Curt Hargis and Sonny Martin; Nebraska – Mike Christensen and Kirby Smith; North & South Dakota – Darrell Parsons and Jason Reed.

Region IV: Indiana – Byron Green; Kentucky – Libby Bowman; Michigan – Dan Agnew; Ohio – Tony Kennedy, John Lavelle and Chuck Smith; New England, NY, NJ & PA – Jack Werner; Virginia, West Virginia, D.C., Maryland & Delaware – Roy Bauer and Jim Johnson; Eastern Canada – Eric Van Boekel.

Region V: Alabama – Julie Beasley and Lamar Waters; Florida – Ora Diehl, Bill Kidd, Sharon Overstreet and Nancy Turner; Georgia – Denise Seiz; North Carolina – Garry Merritt and Barnwell Ramsey; South Carolina – Tracy Barton; Tennessee – Zeke Entz and Maben Thompson.

Region VI: Arkansas – Toddy Pitard, Tommy Williams, Lewis Wray and Scott Wray; Texas East – Johnny Bates, Bradey Davis, Jan Gandy, Cynthia Patty,

Ronnie Smith and Michael Wood; Louisiana – Robert Charles Brown, Bruce Richerson and Chris Thibodeaux; Mississippi – Taylor Flowers and Don McGraw.

Region VII: New Mexico – Richard Hicks; Texas South – Frank Bowen, James Davison, Jimmy Eakin, Scott Ferguson, Janice Little, Hydie McAlister and Jane Mancuso; Texas West – Cheryl Callis, Sherry Graham, Skip Jones and Tommy Neal.

Region VIII: Oklahoma – Cara Brewer, William Cowan, Lloyd Cox, Jody Galyean, James Payne, Bill Riddle, Terry Riddle and Brad Wilson; Texas North – James Bankston, Jeremy Barwick, Sharon Beach, Chris Benedict, Lindy Burch, R.L. Chartier, Jo Ellard, Casey Green, Phil Hanson, Clay Johnson, Susan McBryde, Frank Merrill, Matt Miller, Ken Mock, Rick Mowery, Lachlan Perks, Phil Rapp, Tarin Rice, Tatum Rice, Chubby Turner and Bronc Willoughby.

Absent were the following:

Region I: Oregon – T. Scott Tullis; Utah – David Miller; Washington & Alaska – Alec Eubanks.

Region II: Arizona – Mike Stevens; California – Lee Brooks, Jerry Louie and Stan Williams, Jr.

Region III: Illinois – Bret Parsons.

Region IV: New England, NY, NJ & PA – Joel Cohen; Eastern Canada – Scott Reed; Europe – Michael Ohlhoff, Martin Parage, Peggy Parage, Denis Pini, Karel Spacil, and Sergio Traverso.

Region V: Alabama – James Hooper, Austin Shepard and Sam Shepard; Georgia – Doug Batchelor and Jay Klamon; South Carolina – Becky Elliott and Tennessee - Barbara Brooks.

Region VI: Louisiana – Keith Deaville, Bill Dixon and Edley Hixson, Jr. and Elizabeth Quirk; Mississippi – William Cole and Texas East – Punk Carter.

Region VII: New Mexico – Leslie Graor; Texas South – Brad Buckley, Bobby Hunt, Mark Mills, Mike Mowery and Sam Wilson; Texas West – C. M. "Speedy" Richards and Buster Welch.

Region VIII: Texas North – Clint Allen, Todd Bimat, Dennie Dunn, Ben Emison, Leon Harrel, Cody Hedlund, Tom Lyons, J. B. McLamb, Jim Milner, Tommy Moore, Bruce Morine and Paula Overstreet.

DISPOSAL OF MINUTES

The BOD meeting opened with proof of due notice that appeared in the May issue of *The Cutting Horse Chatter*. A **MOTION** was made by Phil Hanson and **SECONDED** by Jimmy Eakin to accept the minutes from the Board of Directors meetings from June, 2018. **MOTION PASSED**.

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE ELECTIONS

It was reported that the following regions met and voted on Executive Committee board representatives for their regions to serve three-year terms:

Region IV: Byron Green Region V: Sharon Overstreet Region VIII: Matt Miller

There was one at large Executive Committee position up for election at this year's convention for a three-year term. The floor was opened for nominations for this position. Tatum Rice was nominated by Phil Benadum and seconded by Bill Riddle. Move to close nominations was made and seconded by Jeremy Barwick. Tatum Rice ran unopposed, so Tatum will assume the seat of the At Large position open on the Executive Committee for a term of three years until 2022.

APPROVAL OF EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MINUTES

A **MOTION** was made by Jimmy Eakin and **SECONDED** by Frank Merrill to approve the Executive Committee actions for the period of June 4, 2018 – May 31, 2019. **MOTION PASSED**.

NCHA FINANCIAL REPORT

Gerry Merritt, the Chair of the Finance and Audit Committee addressed the Directors by thanking them for their participation on the recent regional calls and supporting the finance message given.

He welcomed Lance Bryson, the new Chief Financial Officer of the National Cutting Horse Association who then advised the financial position of the NCHA with a positive message by clarifying some facts. Current cash as of May 28, 2019 is \$3.6. An operating line of credit was opened last fall which is common practice in an association which was used last year however it was immediately paid off when funds were available. As of today, there is \$0 outstanding on the line of credit. NCHA has an investment account with \$6.3 with a 5.56% rate of return. Of that \$6 million dollars, \$1.06 is dedicated to the scholarship fund. We have an additional investment account that we call our NCHA Super Stakes account as it relates to our Stallion Foal Program. As of the end of April, that account has \$2.53 with a rate of return at 3.30%. MERP funds are not included in these numbers.

PROTECTING OUR BRAND

Kirk Slaughter, NCHA Executive Director addressed the Directors on the importance of protecting our brand. Be proud of who we are as an Association.

We are here to grow and market this association for the sport of cutting, we are here for you and if you any questions please come and ask so we can get accurate information to you.

President Phil Rapp closed the meeting emphasizing the positive movement the association is headed, polishing our brand and not to forget what brought us all together, the horse. Praise that horse and realize that is our common factor in our industry.

There being no further business, **MOTION** was made and **SECONDED** by Sharon Beach to adjourn the meeting. The Board of Directors will reconvene on Sunday morning, 8:00am, June 2, 2019.